Back in September 2009, I plowed a 700-pound Harley into the back of a mini-van on the Los Angeles freeways.

Ouch.

A guy stopped short as I was changing lanes, not going too fast, but fast enough with no options. Boom. Dump. Rush Hour. Yeow…

X-rays showed no broken or separated shoulder, but I couldn’t move my left arm more than an inch for about four days. Sitting in my computer chair, typing with one hand while the other hung in a cloth sling really made me re-think many things.

I have been taking my drumming for granted for over 30 years. Honestly, it took that accident to make me realize quite a few things. I had been working on some music projects, some writing projects, but the heat had not been there until then.

So, if I may offer the thought… whatever you are working on, dream of, ponder, are vexed over when it comes to your music… kick it SQUARE in the ass and take no prisoners. JUST DO IT. Make it a reality, no matter what it takes. Who cares how old or young you are… screw those limits and just LEAP.

I think about this every day since the accident, and my hands and feet are coming back with a vengeance. My odd meter and polyrhythm skills are coming back, the focus is there all time, and even though life is tougher for us after the Recession than we ever thought it would be, we have to press on…

Whatever you want to do, hammer it to the floor and don’t let fear stop you. Push your drumming light years past where you think it can go, and that’s where it will land.

Which, I promise you, feels a helluva lot better than the business end of a freeway…