So today I figured, got a few hours before work, so practice SOMEthing.

I plugged my headset into the Roland TD 6 module and put a funk tune on a loop, so it would repeat, repeat, repeat..

Then I sat down at my drum set and started playing, playing, playing…

I usually throw in too much crap, being too busy when I first start, just getting the junk out of my head. That took about 5 minutes. Then I got a little more serious about building patterns, playing off the beats, inverting things, the usual wanderings…

About 10 minutes into it, same tune, over and over, I found some of the nicer pockets to tastefully put some less busy stuff into…

But it was at 15 when the lights came on. I thought of my hands as very large and heavy logs, and just threw them at the kit… and wow… I swear, the groove fell into place with a perfect fit. Damnedest thing… and I kept thinking like this. My time locked in effortlessly with the song, and I felt very patient and content with what I was playing… AND THAT was the brightest light.

Feeling content keeps you from playing an excessive amount of crap. We all do it, but how do we fight it? I was really feeling the spaces between the notes more when I sorta slugged my hands around the kit, and it worked.

So by 20 minutes, I had found the right perspective.

Not a bad way to practice, and the attitude really drove the playing… as it ultimately always does.