I’ve been listening to a lot of drummers on Spotify lately as I complete a very large rhythm pattern theory text you’ll be hearing more about very soon. Tonight I loaded up some Gene Krupa, just to hear his classic “Sing! Sing! Sing!”

And then I heard the rest of his energy in tracks that really, for the time, were pretty intense. To many of us, Gene’s music is generations away from what we’d listen to on a regular basis, but I have to tell you, I am now a convert. His musicality and phrasing are just too cool. There’s no other way to put it.

Krupa is the picture of drumming cool.

He opened some serious doors for us as a soloist and bandleader, paving the way for us to lead and not merely follow. For that alone, we should be grateful. But do yourself a favor tonight: type “Gene Krupa” into the Spotify search window and listen to 20th Century Drum Master. Listen closely to every little sound Krupa makes. You will hear a musician playing the drums. And I do mean playing

Then go read a little about a drummer’s drummer. We owe it to Gene to keep his flame burning.