When the Ludwig Breakbeats kit first came out, I wrote a blog that dug into what the shells were all about. It took some work, but I was very curious as to why Ludwig was saying so little about the shell construction.
https://davidaldridge.wordpress.com/2013/02/02/ludwig-breakbeats-by-questlove-whats-in-those-shells/

I wrote the piece because I wanted to get answers and wanted to share them. That’s what my little drumming blog has really always been about. Recently, I received a request to post a link to a site that reviews and provides information about small kits, compact drum sets. I usually pass on such requests because they are often commercial in nature.

compact

Not so with www.compactdrums.com

Magnus Boll wrote a very cordial request, and after looking at his site, I agreed to post a link. Problem is, in WordPress, all I have right now are blog links. So, I wanted to bring his site to your direct attention with a little write-up.

What I like most about it is that Magnus said he does this as a hobby, wanting to share the information about a unique and specific category of kits. I’ve been digging into that subject here and there myself, and it’s very cool to find a focused and well-written resource to go explore.

The street drumming, urban banging, play on a 5’x5’ stage kind of world we live in nowadays makes certain drum set realities not entirely possible. There’s obviously a worldwide market, and there’s no shortage of manufacturers working to address that market as well as expand it.

 compact2 compact2

Magnus covers the gamut with his site, with Articles and Reviews about classic cocktail, street and be-bop kits, a very cool Do It Yourself (DIY) section for drum construction, cymbal set-ups, bass drum risers, and a Resources section with porting, coverings, videos and more.

Overall, www.compactdrums.com is a very well-organized and well-written site that provides an excellent resource for drummers wanting to explore less being more. I truly enjoy it when drummers work to help other drummers learn on many levels simply for the joy of sharing.

Nice job, Magnus. And if you start writing a drumming blog, I’ll do as promised and link it to WordPress! Meanwhile, this piece ought to do the trick…