Billy McCarthy is a drummer. It’s not what he does; he paints houses. But it’s what he is.

BillyMcarthy

Just like you.

His bio says he was a signed drummer in the past, a published author, and a music producer. He’s also an aspiring filmmaker with a project near and dear to his heart, which leads us to the point of today’s blog…

Billy wrote me recently, asking if I’d spread the word about a Kickstarter program he’s got going on to fund a movie called Ferocious Drummers, The Documentary. I watched the trailer, read the background, and my gut tells me this is a good thing.

Billy’s been gathering classic footage and interviews for some time now, and believe me, it’s a lot of work. I dabble in production on the side, and the amount of work it takes even to shoot a trailer is incredibly disproportionate to the amount of time allotted to the actual finished product.

That’s one reason Billy needed to go to Kickstarter. He’s already laid out a lot of his own money to shoot the basic footage. The rest of the journey takes considerably more.

Now… as regular readers know, I’m about as anti-commercial as it comes. In fact I basically loathe the whole Internet “Oh look at me, man, I got shit for sale, buy my shit, cuz it’s awesome! Here, have a bunch of it, and let me drown you with ads and stuff while you buy my stuff…”

I don’s see that here. What I do see are some serious name drummers and a couple of well known drum companies helping out without drowning the project in “Oh look at me, man…”

So I’m giving my little promo nod to Billy and his cool project in hopes that it can help spread the word. He’s got a hard road to hoe, but if you look at the Kickstarter page link below, you’ll see what the donation tier awards are as well as a few of the sponsors, like Zildjian, Vic Firth, Aquarian, DW…

By the way, my first thought was when I say these company heavyweights was, “Why aren’t they kickin’ down serious coin to help make this happen?” Then I reasoned that it’s not really their place to do that, quite frankly. Just wanted to make that point.

I might add that the list of drummers he’s got footage of to date is pretty impressive, including Hal Blaine, Carmine Appice, Carter Beauford, and Chad Smith. It’s a long list, actually, that you can see on the website page as well as the Kickstarter page. Some serious hitters, no question.

hal-blaine-drummercarmine-appice-drummer-rod-stewart

  carter-beauford-dave-matthews-bandchad-smith-red-hot-chili-peppers

That said, as drummers, we are members of a very cool club, a unique group of multi-limb talented individuals who are driven to hit things like we mean it. Some harder than others. And I tell ya, like hundreds of thousands of drummers all over the world, when I go home and pick up a drum key, change a head, get the beater angle and spring tension juuuuuuuuusssssst right on my pedals, adjust the seat height and position, fix the cymbals just so, put on the headset and press “Play” to my favorite song, I go to another world, far away from the bullshit of humanity. I go to drummer land, and I get to live.

That’s what Ferocious Drummers, The Documentary, is really about. The spirit of hitting and not quitting. The intangible, unexplainable connection to life through four limb movement and neural back flips. The moment when impact and projection complete your world.

The countdown goes to May 28, 2015. Check out his Kickstarter page, see what you think. Oh, and you can submit a song for possible inclusion in the film as well, which is actually something I’ve not seen in any other Kickstarter programs, making this a uniquely interactive project.

My only personal request is that somewhere in the footage, a dog be included, like the one in the YouTube clip going around tapping the bass drum pedal.

Please Billy, make this happen. But even if you can’t, your film will be 1,000 times more honest than Whiplash, and for that, I gladly accept your request to tell the world about your project and passion. Oh hell yeah…

http://ferociousdrummers.com

https://www.facebook.com/FerociousDrummers/info?tab=page_info